Dailuaine distillery is perhaps the most overlooked of the Diagio portfolio with only a few official bottlings available as only around 2% of it’s incredible 5,200,000 litre annual capacity are released as single malts, the bulk of the remainder forms the part of the groups Johnnie Walker range.
Originally built as a farm distillery Dailuaine’s repeated mergers and takeovers production was scaled up repeatedly through-out it’s lifetime becoming one of the largest in the Giagio group, most interestingly for a distillery with no brand presense the distillery has never been voluntarily shut down throughout its lifetime, though it has been ravaged by fire twice causing temporary stoppage
The Dailuaine distillery was the very first to feature the ‘pagoda’ or ‘cupola’ like Doig Ventilator roof by famed architect Charles Doig which has become so iconic throughout the industry however this architectural gem was sadly destroyed during the 1917 fire.
|Name||Pronounced||AKA||Region||Country of Origin|
|Status||Active||Whisky Type||Website||Tours Available|
|Active||1852 - Present||Malt||Dailuaine||Not Available|
|Manager||Distiller||Blender||Owned by||Parent Group|
1852: Founded by farmer William MacKenzie
1865: Following the death of William MacKenzie his wife Jane leased the distillery to a banker called James Fleming
1879: James Fleming goes into business with their son Thomas forming 'Mackenzie & Company'
1889: Dailuaine becomes the first distillery to feature a 'pagoda' or 'cupola'-like Doig Ventilator roof
1891: MacKenzie & Co. become Dailuaine-Glenlivet Distillery Ltd.
1898: The distillery merges again to form Dailuaine-Talisker Distilleries Ltd
1907: A railway connection links Dailuaine and Imperial distilleries
1915: The company is sold to John Dewar & Sons, John Walker & Sons and James Buchanan & Co. following the death of Thomas Mackenzie
1917: Fire guts the distillery destroying the 'pagoda' or 'cupola'-like Doig Ventilator roof
1920: The distillery is re-opened
1925: The distillery is acquired by Distilleries Company Limited (DCL) and run by it's Scotch Malted Distillers Ltd (SMD) subsidiary
1960: Following another fire the distillery undergoes a complete renovation and is enlarged from four to six stills
1963: The floor Maltings are replacd by Saladin box maltings
1965: The stills were converted to internal steam heating
1983: The Saladin Box at Dailuaine is closed
1998: United Distillers and and International Distillers & Vintners merge becoming part of Diageo
2001: Dailuaine is released in the 'Flora & Fauna' range
2012: Dailuaine is further expanded by 25%
2014: A new bio-energy plant is installewd at Dailuaine